Your Song – Elton John: The Awakening


I, generally, am pretty dense about music. My tastes range from the most sophisticated to downright silly. I have heard nearly everyone from Cliff Richard to Rebecca Black. And my choices vary. My database consists of songs that have been record-setters, songs that have gone viral, songs that are funny, those that are popular and some finely auto-tuned. But what I enjoy the most are the lyrics and more so, the music.

I come from the Backstreet Boys, N*Sync, Britney Spears generation and these are what I grew up with. I love them, mind you but pop is not something one can base their musical experience on.Β Elton John was someone I had heard of but never his music. And when I heard this song, I knew what I was missing. This song is a very soothing ballad. And it was not the Elton John version that I heard first. I bought a ticket to Janet Devlin, rode the flight to Ellie Goulding and finally arrived at Elton John.

“Your Song” touches the soul and sends ripples through the heart. It brings out raw feelings and makes you fall in love with it. It doesn’t bore. Instead it warms you from within. Something that does not need a time to be played but just needs to be soaked whenever it’s on. I, from now on, will keep my ears out for Elton John. Who knows? I may need to fall in love again.

Share your thoughts on this post

