My Inking


There are many reasons for getting inked. Some do it to show off their coolness (uncool, if I may say), some to honour loved ones, some others to represent an emotion, and some for fun.

My tattoo story falls in-between representation and fun. It was an idea cooked up by me and a friend. Though I knew what I wanted, it took about a month to decide on the appropriate design. And…

…the result was awesome.

Image

A dragon called Sirius

It’s a dragon. Called Sirius. The name, of course, is after my favourite character in Harry Potter. It represents pride, loyalty, fearlessness, respect and dignity. Much of the qualities shared by the character Sirius and the mythical dragons. The placement is not significant. It was either there or below the crease of the elbow (as I Googled, it’s called, antecubital space). Some people have asked me why I put it on my leg where nobody can see it. My answer is simple. A tattoo is something personal and unlike people who flaunt it for the world to see for easy admiration, I prefer to keep it private as much as I can.

So there we were, at the tattoo parlour, on the morning of December 18, 2011 to get inked. My friend got her tattoo first. A phoenix (named Dumby). She made it look like it was the most painless thing in the world. She neither winced nor flinched. Then came my turn. And it was a very funny experience. He made a copy and stenciled it on my leg. It had begun. I started sweating even though the fan was in full swing. I was waiting for it to get over. It took about 30 – 45 minutes and my heart was in my hand all the while (my first time, you see).

But once it was done and I saw the result, I would gladly have gone back for another session. It was now a part of me. For now it is the only tattoo I have. Plans of others? Yes. The symbol of the Deathly Hallows is next. A quote on the arm may follow. When? I’m unsure. But I know this will not be the last and is just the beginning.

“I’m from a nice, suburban, middle-class family, but my tattoos remind me where I’ve been.”

Idea by: Daily Prompt: Tattoo…You?

10 thoughts on “My Inking

  1. Pingback: Tattoo… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  2. Pingback: Tattoo… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  3. Pingback: The Art of Choosing Ink | The Silver Leaf Journal

  4. Pingback: What I Think Of Tattoos | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | GG's World

  6. Pingback: If I Chose Tattoes | mycookinglifebypatty

  7. Pingback: Time for a – Tattoo? Who? Me? | Words 'n Pics

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Tattoo You? | BulgingButtons

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Tattoo….. You? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  10. Pingback: Tattoos, A big No-No | A mom's blog

Share your thoughts on this post

